Posted by: David Weimer | December 4, 2013

The Disintegration of me (excerpt from “Situations of I”, my upcoming collection of short stories, essays and poems)

The Disintegration of Me

 Image

The disintegration of me

is easy to see.

Oh, me….

The sand beneath my feet

wears my feet

Smooth, wears the shells and rocks, wears everything

of everything,

and me

watching.

I am a shell under the feet of the sea.

My defeat whispers

softly.  My feet

push through sand and heel into the coolness below,

into everything.

The disintegration of me is easy.

I stand sideways, and waves push and pull, crash and recede,

smoothing,

polishing,

wearing me

free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

